
This is a list of the databases currently available to Library patrons.
A short description and the funding source is provided after each
name. Use
the
menu at
the right to go directly
to a category in the list.
To access a database, click
on the appropriate
link at the end of each description. When accessing a particular
database from outside of the library, you will be required
to log
in with
your Minuteman Library card number. Most of the time, it
must be entered without any spaces between the numbers. Do not prevent
cookies from being enabled or access will be denied. In many cases,
access
will provide you with a menu which requires you to select the requested
database again once you've located it within the site.
Should you have a problem logging in, please contact a Reference
Librarian at 978-318-3347 or concordref@minlib.net during
library hours.
BIOGRAPHY
Biography Resource Center (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card
number.) This database includes full-text articles from hundreds
of periodicals and biographical information in the Complete Marquis
Who's Who. [Remote access to database | Access
from within library]
BUSINESS RESOURCES
Banker & Tradesman Online (CFPL) (In-library
use only; password required; see Reference staff.) A real estate, banking and commercial weekly for Massachusetts. [Go to database.]
General
BusinessFile ASAP (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote access
requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) Indexes
over 1,300 periodicals and includes the full text of articles
from 650 of the indexed titles. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
FOR STUDENTS/CHILDREN
InfoTrac
Student Edition (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote access
requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) Designed
for high school students, for access to a variety of indexed and
full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Kids InfoBits (MBLC) (Remote access requires Minuteman library Network Library card number.)
For elementary school students, includes reference books, magazines,
and newspaper articles. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Lands
and Peoples (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) An encyclopedia
of countries, cultures, and current events geared to student readers.
[Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
The New Book of Popular Science (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) Science and technology, plus science in the news for middle and high schools. [Remote access to database | Access from within library]
CONSUMER INFORMATION
Consumer
Reports (CFPL) (In-library use only; password required;
see Reference Staff.) [Go to database.]
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
America the Beautiful (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) State-by-State history and current events for elementary and middle schools. [Remote access to database | Access from within library]
Grolier
Multimedia Encyclopedia Online (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Lands
and Peoples (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) An encyclopedia
of countries, cultures, and current events geared to student
readers. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
The New Book of Popular Science (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) Science and technology, plus science in the news for middle and high schools. [Remote access to database | Access from within library]
GENERAL
Academic One-File (MBLC) (Remote
access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) Millions of peer-reviewed, full text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes the full text of the New York Times back to 1995.[Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Ancestry Library Edition (CFPL) (In-library use only.) With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists. [Go to database.]
Educator's Reference Complete (MBLC) (Remote
access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Expanded Academic ASAP (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) Provides
indexing of 2,300 scholarly and general interest periodicals and
full text from 1,300 of the academic titles. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Gale Virtual Reference Library (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote access requires Minuteman
Library Network library card number.) A database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
General Reference Center (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote access requires Minuteman
Library Network library card number.) Provides indexing
of over 3900 general interest periodicals, and full text from
2958 of the
indexed titles. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
InfoTrac OneFile - (MBLC) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. [Remote access to database | Access from within library]
netLibrary (BPL/MBLC) (Remote access requires Minuteman
library Network Library card number.)
A collection of over 3500 newly published e-books. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
OCLC
FirstSearch (MMRLS) (In-library
use only.) Search for books, periodicals, and other media worldwide on WorldCat. [Go to the database]
PowerSearch - (MBLC) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) PowerSearch is a one-stop source for newspaper, magazine and journal articles from 1980 to the present on a wide range of topics. With the cross-search feature of Thomson Gale PowerSearch, you can search one, several, or even all available Thomson Gale databases simultaneously. [Remote access to database | Access from within library]
WorldCat - Over 1 billion items in more than 10,000 libraries worldwide [Go to the database]
HEALTH
Health Reference Center - Academic (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote
access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) Indexes
180 health journals; full text from 142 of those titles; full text
of 700 medical pamphlets and six medical reference books. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
HISTORY
American History Online (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) A
comprehensive and authoritative reference to the most important individuals,
events, and topics in United States history. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Ancestry Library Edition (CFPL) (In-library use only.) With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists.
[Go to database]
Massachusetts History Online (MBLC)
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
LAW
Westlaw (CFPL) (In-library
use only.) Includes full text of Code of Massachusetts Regulations,
Massachusetts General Laws Annotated, United States Code Annotated,
and the Massachusetts
Practice series. [Go
to the database.]
Other databases in this Westlaw
subscription include:
Massachusetts
Cases
Massachusetts Statutes & Legislative Service
Massachusetts Court
Rules & Orders
Massachusetts
Administrative & Executive
Materials
Massachusetts
Insurance Materials
Massachusetts
Texts & Periodicals
Massachusetts
Corporate Records & Business
Registrations (CORP-MA)
Westlaw State Bulletins-Massachusetts (WSB-MA)
West Legal Directory-Massachusetts (WLD-MA)
Massachusetts Blue Sky Regulations (MASEC-REG)
Massachusetts Tax Regulations (MATX-ADC)
U.S. Supreme Court Cases after 1944 (SCT)
U.S. Supreme Court Cases
before 1945 (SCT-OLD)
U.S. Supreme Court Headnotes (SCT-HN)
United States Code Annotated (USCA)
United States Code (USCA unannotated) (USC)
USCA General Index (USCA-IDX)
USCA Popular Name Table (USCA-POP)
United States Code Annotated-Tables (USCA-TABLES)
United States Public Laws (US-PL)
Multifamily Assisted Housing Reform
and Affordability Act of 1997 (FMAHRA-PL)
Federal
Low Income Housing Tax Credit (FLIHTCRED-IRC)
United States Public Laws 1973-2002 (US-PL-OLD)
Federal Rules (US-RULES)
Federal Orders (US-ORDERS)
Westlaw Bulletin-U.S. Supreme Court (WLB-SCT)
1st Circuit Materials
USCA Historical Databases
USCA by Practice Area
U.S.
Code Congressional & Administrative
News
LITERATURE & BOOKS
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (MBLC/MMRLS) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) A
collection of critical and biographical essays on contemporary writers.
[Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
Gale's
Literary Index (In-library Use and Remote Access) A master
index to the major literature series published by Gale Group. [Go
to the database.]
Literary Reference Center (MBLC)(Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) Provides users with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
LitFinder (MLN) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) Contains
Poemfinder, Short Story Finder and Essay Finder. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
netLibrary (BPL/MBLC) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.)
A collection of over 3500 newly published e-books. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
NoveList:
Your Guide to Fiction (MLN) (Remote access requires
Minuteman Library Network library card number.) A reader's advisory resource which helps readers of all ages find fiction authors and titles through subjects, reviews, booklists and many more. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
LOCAL RESOURCES
Community Information and Referral File (MLN) (Remote access does not require a library card.) A database
of educational, health, recreational, religious, advocacy and governmental
organizations in the Boston Metrowest region. [Go
to database.]
Massachusetts "QuickFind" Websites (MLN) (Remote access does not require a library card.) A directory of Internet websites pertinent to the state of Massachusetts. [Go to database.]
NEWSPAPERS
Barron's Online (CFPL) (In-library use only; password required; see Reference staff.) Weekly publication for investors from the publisher of the Wall Street Journal. [Go to database.]
Massachusetts Newsstand (MBLC and MMRLS)
Includes The Boston Globe (1980-Current), The Boston Herald (1991-Current), Berkshire Eagle (2005-Current), BusinessWest (Chicopee) (1992-Current), North Adams Transcript (2005-Current), Patriot Ledger (Quincy) (1991-Current), Plymouth County Business Review (1991-Current), Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg) (2005-Current), The Sun (Lowell) (2004-Current), Telegram & Gazette (Worcester) (1989-Current), Gazette (Haverhill (12/31/92 - 8/9/97), Standard Times (New Bedford (1/4/92 - 8/19/97) [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
New York Times (1980-current) (MLN) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library card number.) [Remote access to database | Access from within library]
New York Times Archive (ProQuest)
(CFPL) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library
card number.) To date, the New York Times Archive contains full
image (including advertisements and death notices) from daily issues
1851 to 2003. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
SCIENCE
The New Book of Popular Science (CFPL) (Remote access is available to Concord residents only.) Science and technology, plus science in the news for middle and high schools. [Remote access to database | Access from within library]
Science Resource Center (CFPL) (Remote access requires Minuteman Library Network library
card number.) A curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. [Remote
access to database | Access
from within library]
STOCKS & INVESTMENTS
Barron's Online (CFPL) (In-library use only; password required; see Reference staff.) Weekly publication for investors from the publisher of the Wall Street Journal. [Go to database.]
MorningStar Library Edition (CFPL) (In-library
use only; password required; see Reference staff.)
Information about stocks and mutual funds. [Go
to database.]
Value Line Investment
Survey (CFPL) (In-library use only; password required; see Reference
staff.)
A comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately
1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and
the economy. [Go
to database.]
Resources are provided by the following organizations:
-
BPL—Boston
Public Library with funding from the Massachusetts Board of Library
Commissioners
-
CFPL—Concord Free Public Library
-
MBLC—Massachusetts Board
of Library Commissioners and the six Regional Library Systems
-
MLN—Minuteman Library Network
-
MMRLS—Massachusetts Metrowest Regional
Library System
GLOSSARY OF TERMS
Advanced
Searching – While the simple searches
typically involve looking for a single
subject or keyword, the advanced searches allow
the user to pinpoint other kinds of
information, often several at a time. For example,
narrowing
the date and specifying an author or
geographic
area are common features. In business
databases, such elements as company name, ticker
symbol,
size,
product and industry code are often
searchable.
The term field is used on many databases
for those elements which are separately indexed
and
therefore searchable.
CD-ROM – This
is a disc for storing digital information.
At the Concord
Free Public Library,
the reference CD-ROMs are networked.
This means that users do not actually
see the disc, and access is virtually
the same
as for online
databases. (CD-ROM stands for compact
disc-read only memory, meaning that
one can read
the information, not change or
edit it.)
Database – A collection
of information in electronic format.
In the library,
a database usually
refers to a collection of information
used for reference. All the reference
tools described in this guide are databases
of
one kind or another.
Default – The
option that the computer software chooses
automatically.
Full text – More
and more databases are not only indexing
material (i.e.
identifying the source),
but providing the text of the material
as well.
Icon – This is the word
used for the little pictures representing
different
databases on the
first screen in Windows computers.
Index – Like an index in the back
of a book, a periodical index lists
alphabetically the contents
of magazines or newspapers (or
any other publication). From a computer,
these lists are accessible by typing
a keyword or subject.
Keyword – Whether
subjects are indexed on a computer
database or in print, the selection of subject
terms is selective. Each index chooses
different words to identify subjects.
In order to allow users
to take full advantage of huge electronic
databases, the keyword search was developed.
The keywords may be found in the title,
subject, author’s
name or even in the text of the article,
depending on the database.
Log in – The is the procedure by which you are asked
to provide information in exchange for being given access to a specific
page or
site on the World Wide Web. For the most part, here that means typing
in your library card number when prompted.
Minuteman
homepage – Concord Free Public
Library is a member of the Minuteman Library
Network.
The Minuteman homepage refers to World
Wide Web presence of the Network. Concord’s
computers ( as opposed to the terminals),
designate Concord Free Public Library
Homepage. You can click on to the Minuteman
Homepage
from
Concord Free Public Library.
Online – This
means the database is located somewhere
outside the building
and accessible through
the Internet.
Windows computers – This
refers to the personal computers with
a Windows
interface.
In the Concord
Free Public Library, these computers
are dedicated to networked functions
(Internet, catalog, CD-ROM). In this
guide, the term
is used to distinguish computers from
terminals, because not all databases
are available on both.
|
DATABASE MENU
All require Minuteman Library Network library card number for remote access.
|